ADAC Opel Rallye Cup 2017: The Talent Show Starts Again

Thu, 30/03/2017 - 12:00

  • Fifth season of toughest rallye cup in Europe commences on April 7/8
  • Large field with 24 drivers from 12 countries and many newcomers


Rüsselsheim.  The new season of the ADAC Opel Rallye Cup starts on April 7/8 with the ADAC Hessen Rallye Vogelsberg around Schlitz near Fulda. In its fifth year, the Cup has not lost any of its allure – on the contrary: the field of participants in 2017 is larger and more international than ever before. In technically identical Opel ADAM Cup vehicles, 24 drivers from 12 countries will fight for points, prize money and the tremendous opportunity to advance into the ADAC Opel Rallye Junior Team, the official Opel works team that has been causing a sensation at the FIA ERC Junior since 2015 with the lightning-fast Opel ADAM R2.

It’s been a thrilling ride from the beginning: with Emil Bergkvist (2015) and Marijan Griebel (2016), the 2014 und 2013 Cup Champions captured the last two ERC Junior titles in the face of incredibly fierce European competition. This is a tough act to follow for the 2016 ADAC Opel Rallye Cup Champion: the extremely talented Finn Jari Huttunen (23) goes into this season next to Briton Christopher Ingram (22) and 19-year-old Italian Tamara Molinaro in the Opel works team.

Next to the unique advancement opportunity, the ADAC Opel Rallye Cup also appeals with its coherent concept and fantastic package for demanding motorsport. Ambitious rally drivers find a reliable, fast competitive machine in the 140 hp Opel ADAM Cup, with which the best junior drivers regularly upset more powerful, partly all-wheel drive competition during the German Rallye Championship events. The package also includes professional technical support by Opel Motorsport, a stylish venue and presence for all participants in the service park with the “Cup Village” and hospitality as well as an efficient structure for media relations and marketing during the eight events – at manageable costs. The season highlight is again the two events in the framework of the ADAC Rallye Deutschland, the German round of the World Rallye Championship, in August.

The ongoing attractiveness of this concept is underlined by the fact that no less than 12 newcomers will compete in the international 2017 Cup, including Tom Kässer (driver) and Stephanie Voigtländer (co-driver), the winners of last year’s ADAC Opel Rallye Academy. Christoph Hilmes, Maximilian Schmidt and Thomas Weirather, the younger brother of alpine ski racer Tina Weirather, are three more “graduates” who have decided to participate in the ADAC Opel Rallye Cup.

It’s difficult to name favorites. Cup returnee Jacob Lund Madsen from Denmark already demonstrated his vast talent in 2014 and 2015 and is most certainly one of the top contenders, as is last year’s Cup runner-up, Swede Tom Kristensson. Elsewhere, Frederic Field (England), Grégoire Munster (Luxembourg) and Frederic Hauswald (France) are making their debut in the ADAC Opel Rallye Cup and all three have been tipped to do well by the experts. And there are also promising talents in the ranks of young German drivers. In March, Nico Knacker won the Cup test round at the ADAC Saarland-Pfalz Rallye just one second ahead of Johannes Dambach.

Fans can look forward to exciting battles for split seconds and lots of thrilling action on the rallye tracks. Knowledgeable spectators won’t leave a special stage before the wild ADAM squad has finished it anyway.


ADAC Opel Rallye Cup 2017 List of Participants

Nr. Driver Co-driver
30 Tobias Pohlner (D) Jasmin Santos (D)
31 Nino Weiland (D) Ann-Kathrin Mergen (D)
32 Frederic Field (GB) Janice Moore (GB)
33 Frédéric Hauswald (F) Romain Garrel (F)
34 Jacob Lund Madsen (DK) Line Lykke Jensen (DK)
35 Ricardo Sobkowski (D) Philipp Sommermann (D)
36 Grégoire Munster (L) Johan Jalet (B)
37 Philipp Hetz (D) Silvia Dartsch (D)
38 Tim Wacker (D) Christian Kugler (D)
39 Nico Knacker (D) Ella Kremer (D)
40 Calvin Beattie (IRL) Jack Morton (GB)
41 Fabian Rotter (D) Enrico Flores-Trigo (D)
42 Christoph Hilmes (D) Maximilian Plum (D)
43 Romain Delhez (B) Gerome Bollette (B)
44 Tom Kässer (D) Sebastian Glatzel (D)
45 Thomas Weirather (FL) Matthias Schlosser (A)
46 Lukas Hein (D) Andreas Bergmann (D)
47 Johannes Dambach (D) Thomas Fuchs (D)
48 Tim Novak (SLO) Lisa Stengl (D)
49 Nicola Sartor (I) Pietro Elia Ometto (I)
50 Tom Kristensson (S) Henrik Appelskog (S)
51 David Stefan (CZ) Josef Král (CZ)
52 Simon Habran (B) Léonid Wojzehowsky (B)
53 Maximilian Schmidt (D) Stephanie Voigtländer (D)

Calendar ADAC Opel Rallye Cup 2017

April 7 - 8 ADAC Hessen Rallye Vogelsberg
May 5 - 6 ADAC Rallye “Rund um die Sulinger Bärenklaue“
May 26 - 27 AvD-Sachsen-Rallye
June 23 - 24 ADAC Rallye Stemweder Berg
August 17 - 20 ADAC Rallye Deutschland (two legs)
September 8 - 9 ADAC Rallye Niedersachsen
October 20 - 21 ADAC 3-Städte Rallye


Axel Seegers
Manager Brand and Motor Sports Communication
Tel.: +49 6142/ 77 54 96
Mobile: +49 151/16 41 95 70
Fax: +49 6142/7-78 409

Marcus Lacroix
Tel.: +49 (0) 7531 9228106
Mobile: 0172-7404562